Top 5: ‘Bridgerton’ series vs ‘Bridgerton’ books

At the request of Lady Danberry, I have taken on a very delicate matter. With the Bridgerton series releasing today, she saw fit that someone take a moment and explain the differences between the series and the actual source material. Now, this matter will require any writer to walk a fine line to protect the sensibilities of new fans to the series and avoid drawing the ire of any number of Duke’s, Rake’s, or Duchesses’s responsible for bringing this series to Netflix. They want not a thing to be spoiled. If anyone were to do such a thing, it would ruin my social standing and most certainly draw the attention of one Lady Whistledown (no one wants that). So with that said, here are five significant differences between the Bridgerton series and its source material. 

5. Marina Thompson –

Marina Thompson is a character introduced into this narrative, which seems to be inspired by The Duke and I. Her presence certainly adds an exciting dynamic to the Featherington family. At the beginning of the series, we are introduced to her, and all we know is she’s a farm girl who is staying with the Featheringtons for what appears to be the duration of London’s social season. Her sudden presence in London indeed has turned heads. There are even rumors about Ms. Thompson having a secret the Featherington’s want no one to uncover. Where it gets complex is how her beauty begins to draw the attention of numerous suitors. While there’s undoubtedly more tea to spill about this character, one must remember one’s place when spoiling such matters. 

4. Mr. Featherington is alive – 

In Julia Quinn’s first book, Mr. Featherington has already passed away, but he is very much alive in the Bridgerton series. Now, does he have a particularly dominant presence during this season? No, but he is undoubtedly an essential part of this season’s narrative. How vital and to what degree is a line that I won’t risk ruin to cross. 


3. Daphne’s time is now – 

In the book, Daphne’s in her second season and seems very nervous about the whole process of finding a husband. It’s her debut season in the show, and she’s seemingly less anxious about the process at first. This appearance of being at ease with the whole process is all for show as she’s as naive as they come about adult matters. However, it does catch the attention of her sister Eloise and contributes to tension between these two sisters. This appearance of confidence draws the attention of some suitors, but not all have the best intentions.


2. Penelope and Colin – 

In the book, Penelope loves Colin from afar, and things develop throughout the first three books until they are together. While Penelope’s love for Colin is unchanged in the Netflix series, show creator Chris Van Dusen has introduced an interesting wrinkle into their love story. At this point, Penelope isn’t one to speak up very frequently but does that change when what she’s always wanted is in serious jeopardy of being taken from her. 

1. Bareknuckle Boxing – 

While Bareknuckle boxing was a widespread sport during this period, it is nowhere in the first book. This addition introduces an intriguing element giving the series a dark underbelly that’s not present in the first book. Plus, the mere sport’s presence triples the number of shirtless guys with ripped abs fighting one another. Van Dusen’s introduction of this element in many ways expands the universe that Quinn created. How so? You’ll see! 

2 thoughts on “Top 5: ‘Bridgerton’ series vs ‘Bridgerton’ books

  1. It is “Featheringtons” PLURAL

    no apostrophe
    please correct( it makes you look
    so very amateurish

    thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *